Can I get a license to carry a firearm for personal defense? Can I do this as an Illinois resident?
Many states issue right-to-carry licenses to non-residents.
These concealed carry licenses are recognized via a legal principle known as reciprocity, by not only the issuing state, but also many other states as well.
These licenses are not valid to carry in Illinois. You will need an Illinois-issued license to carry in Illinois.
Non-resident carry licenses from select other states will allow you to keep your family safe while on vacation out-of-state and simplify firearm transportation issues in the states where the licenses are recognized, but as an Illinois resident, you’ll need that Illinois license before you can apply for non-resident licenses from other states.
There are many states which issue these non-resident permits. For an exhaustive list of each and every issuing state, visit Handgunlaw.us or similar sites on the Internet. Below is some information about Florida’s permit which is particularly popular here in Illinois.
Illinois’ license is now recognized by over twenty states, including every state bordering Illinois. For a complete list, visit Handgunlaw.us.
Illinois Concealed Carry Licenses
The Illinois State Police Firearms Services Bureau website is the place to go to apply for your FOID card or your Concealed Carry License.
The site is chock full of information you’ll need to know and a frequently asked questions section.
What about fingerprints?
Our recommendation: Skip the digital ID fingerprinting and take that $75-$100 savings and take your spouse out to a romantic dinner. Why?
The downside to not submitting prints is that The Illinois State Police will get an additional 30-days to process your application. Frankly, if you’re like most of us, you have waited a lifetime for carry. Another 30 days isn’t that big of a deal.
The State of Illinois receives $31.50 of that fee. The LiveScan machine, as was offered to us when the Illinois CCW law passed, was $8,000 and there were other fees associated with being a LiveScan vendor, so we can assure you none of the LiveScan vendors are keeping the entire fingerprinting fee and getting rich on it.
Click HERE for application
- A seven-year license
- Approximately $112 application fee (non-refundable).
- Typically issued in 6- to 12-weeks.
- Fingerprints are required (Hard-card fingerprints… they’ll send a card with the application)
- There is a training requirement (Illinois’ training requirement satisfies it)
- Valid in almost 30 states, including neighboring states Missouri, Kentucky, Indiana and, of course, Florida.
- You must have your Illinois CCW to apply.
So, you got your license.
If you are going to carry after you’ve received your license from an issuing authority, be sure you follow the rules and regulations. We discuss these in the NRA Personal Protection in the Home course, but here are the three top things you need to know before strapping on your personal defense device.
- Is my permit valid in the state where I’m going to travel?
- What are the prohibited locations? In some states, dinner at nice restaurants (that serve alcohol) is forbidden. Know the prohibited locations and the consequences for violating those prohibited locations.
- What are the “duty to notify” requirements? Some states, like Ohio, require you to notify any police officer you come in contact with immediately (as in the first thing out of your mouth) – that you have a permit and you have your firearm on your person. Others, like Indiana, don’t have this requirement.
The webmaster here is not a lawyer, nor does he play one on TV. He didn’t even stay at Holiday Inn Express last night.
Do your own research at Handgunlaw.us or similar websites (which have links to the individual states so you may authenticate their research). It is ultimately your bacon on the line, so be sure you know and understand the rules before you begin to carry while visiting other states.